Canberra Academy of Languages – Events

Events – this year

Public holidays are shown only where they occur during an academic term.

Date and venue Event

January 2017

Tuesday 17 January 2017, 17:00 (5 pm),
Canberra Museum and Gallery (CMAG), 176 London Circuit, Canberra ACT 2601
Canberra Academy of Languages Launch
(rsvp info@cal.act.edu.au by COB 9 January 2017)
Monday 30 January 2017 First day of Term 1 for new students
Academy classes will not be scheduled in Week 1 of Semester 1, so that home schools and colleges can finalise student class placements

February 2017

Monday 6 to Thursday 9 February 2017
University of Canberra Senior Secondary College Lake Ginninderra
Commencement of academy classes for 2017
  • The on-site session for each class will be on a day of the week to be advised to class members and families when timetable details are finalised.
  • Students will have two additional hours of programmed work off-site per week.

March 2017

Tuesday 7 March 2017 Moderation Day 1
No scheduled classes on Moderation Day
Monday 13 March 2017
No scheduled classes on public holiday
Canberra Day – public holiday
Friday 17 March 2017, 1000-1100, NGA Versailles exhibition
Wednesday 22 March 2017, 1000-1200
Palace Electric Cinema
Un sac de billes, French Film Festival

April 2017

Friday 7 April 2017, 17:00 (5 pm) Last day of Term 1
Wednesday 26 April 2017 First day of Term 2
Wednesday 26 April 2017
University of Canberra Senior Secondary College Lake Ginninderra
Three-way interviews to review program with parents and students

May 2017

Monday 15 May 2017 to Thursday 25 May 2017 Language Perfect World Championships
Online – follow the link

June 2017

Monday 12 June 2017 Queen's Birthday - Public Holiday
No scheduled classes on public holiday
Friday 30 June 2017 Last day of Term 2

July 2017

Monday 17 July 2017 First day of Term 3

August 2017

Thursday 10 August 2017 Moderation Day 2
No scheduled classes on Moderation Day
Thursday 31 August 2017 CAL AGM and Advisory Council
Contact CAL

September 2017

Tuesday 5 September 2017 AST Test – Sessions 1 & 2
Wednesday 6 September 2017 AST Test – Session 3
Thursday 14 September 2017, 6 pm
Canberra Museum and Gallery (CMAG)
176 London Circuit, Canberra ACT 2601
Information evening for schools and families
Friday 22 September 2017 Last day of Term 3

October 2017

Saturday 21 October 2017, 10 am to 2 pm
Exhibition Park in Canberra (EPIC)
Flemington Rd & Northbourne Avenue, Mitchell ACT 2602
Community Language Schools Open Day
Monday 9 October 2017 First day of Term 4

November 2017

Wednesday 22 November 2017, 2:00 pm to 4:00 pm tbc
Alliance Française
66 McCaughey Street, Turner ACT 2602
Excursion for familiarisation with personnel and with cultural and language programs

December 2017

Tuesday 12 December 2017, 2:30 pm
Canberra Museum and Gallery (CMAG)
176 London Circuit, Canberra
ACT 2601
Canberra Academy of Languages 2017 Graduation Ceremony
Friday 15 December 2017 Last day of Term 4

Events – next year

Date and venue Event

February 2018

Monday 5 February 2018 First day of Term 1 for new students in 2018
Academy classes will not be scheduled in Week 1 of Semester 1, so that home schools and colleges can finalise student class placements
Thursday 8 February 2018, 6 pm, date to be confirmed
Dickson College, 184 Phillip Ave, Dickson ACT 2602, location tbc
Registration evening
Monday 12 February to Thursday 15 February 2018
Dickson College, 184 Phillip Ave, Dickson ACT 2602
Commencement of academy classes for 2018
  • The on-site session for each class will be on a day of the week to be advised to class members and families when timetable details are finalised.
  • Students will have two additional hours of programmed work off-site per week.

April 2018

Friday 13 April 2018 Last day of Term 1 in 2018
Monday 30 April 2018 First day of Term 2 in 2018

Semester 2, 2018

Friday 6 July 2018 Last day of Term 2 in 2018
Monday 23 July 2018 First day of Term 3 in 2018
Friday 28 September 2018 Last day of Term 3 in 2018
Monday 15 October 2018 First day of Term 4 in 2018
Friday 21 December 2018 Last day of Term 4 in 2018

Events – previous years

Date and venue Event

December 2016

Wednesday 14 December 2016, 17:00 (5 pm)
Dickson College, 184 Phillip Ave, Dickson ACT 2602
Information evening
  • Why learn a language – benefits for the individual and the community
  • Academy philosophy and learning principles
  • Academy schedule for the year
  • Academy curriculum
  • Academy enrolment process
  • Q&A
Friday 16 December 2016 Last day of Term 4

Last updated

© Canberra Academy of Languages

Canberra region photo
Expanding opportunities for language learning
in the Canberra region